Skip to content

Love Came Down

December 13, 2011

“My words fly up, my thoughts remain below.

Words without thoughts to Heaven never go.”

 – Hamlet (III, iii, 100-103)

Jesus came “down” so that both our thoughts and our prayers could freely go up to Heaven.

Why do our thoughts remain below? Isn’t it because we worry. We worry our prayers won’t be answered. But Jesus came down to BE our answer.

Why should I worry? Why should I fear?

Trusting that God came down – not just physically but in every way Jesus lowered himself, and for what? To raise us up with him, to be seated in heavenly places – where? Up.

Love came down so we could go up.

“Come up here.”

Revelation 4:1

This post is part of a wonderful blog carnival hosted by Peter Pollock

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2011 7:48 am

    “Jesus came down to BE our answer.” I love this. Whatever the question, he is enough. So thankful he came down to be that for us.

  2. December 13, 2011 9:42 am

    “Love came down so we could go up.” – I loved that!

  3. December 13, 2011 4:27 pm

    Your post reminds me of the scripture that tells us that we are seated with Him in Heavenly places even as we speak. My spirit can soar and He lifts me up (not pushes me down.)

  4. December 13, 2011 7:59 pm

    Short and to the point — and a great point!

  5. December 14, 2011 1:58 pm

    One of the beautiful events that occurred in history because of that love that came down was the Christmas truce. Oh Holy Night: The Peace of 1914 tells the story and ends with that call to come up and drink of the water of life.
    http://sdcougar.startlogic.com/blog/?p=155

  6. December 16, 2011 1:22 pm

    Thanks everyone! I love the expansion of the thoughts and ideas as well as extra information – Michael Snow. I’ll check that out!

  7. December 20, 2011 4:31 pm

    I have a bad tendency to look “down”…. worried, frustrated, “wishing” for more in many ways… and the Lord taps me on my head and heart and I quickly look UP and know that’s the right direction. If only I could keep that as my main focus forever and ever so that when I am called UP there won’t be an adjustment needed. Thanks.

Spark some interest

