Skip to content

Revolving Resolving

October 25, 2011

Revolving Resolving

 

 

Ugh, I used to be one of those New Year’s Resolution people.
What a set up for failure right? Start a year off with high and mighty ideals,
that are mostly unobtainable, only to see yourself fall short soon there after.
I then resolved not to resolve any more.

I feel I am like Talkative in the allegory, Pilgrim’s
Progress
. I am not like Christian or Faithful, I do not walk the walk, I do a
lot of talking about the walk, on the walk, watching the walk, and of course
about others’ walks. I hate it.

This past evening my husband and I went to see the movie,
Courageous. It centered on a resolution. Resolution according to Noah Webster in 1828 had to do with the separating out of complex things to their foundations or simplest form. With regard to intention he listed these:

6. Fixed purpose or determination of mind; as a resolution to reform our
lives; a resolution to undertake an expedition.

7. The effect of fixed purpose; firmness, steadiness or constancy in
execution, implying courage.

http://1828.mshaffer.com/d/search/word,resolution

So, having resolution, or making a resolution involves a lot more than me just having a desired outcome – loosing weight, exercising more, yelling less. I have to break down the complexities of those issues.

 

Ouch.

 

I didn’t want to go there. But I will never go anywhere if I don’t. That is why I fail.

In the movie, the protagonist says to his commrades: I do not make this resolution lightly. I want to sign it and mean it and I need you to keep me accountable to what I have studied and written here and am now prepared to live out.

 

He had an issue with his parenting. He asked his pastor for help. His pastor did his part by directing him to scripture and then presenting a series on being a father.

The father’s part was to do his own resolving. When you resolve something in chemistry you break it down. You separate out the parts and examine them. You figure out how the composite was formed and what created the bonds. Sometimes you can even figure out the why.

For actions and intentions, the why is critical but not always obvious. That is why we need God. He is our solvent. He causes solution. But we must be willing. I-I-I must be willing to have the complexities of my problem broken down and exposed, examined, sometimes exumed.

This process takes more than a feeling or a whim. It takes courage. It takes resolution.

And I pray I would stop revolving through such processes, avoiding the implications or inconvenient truths that surface to truly allow the Holy Spirit to bring healing and wholeness to my life, my mind, my soul.

 

What about you? Are you ready to stop revolving and start resolving?

 

This post is part of a blog carnival Peter Pollock so graciously hosts: One Word at a Time.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 25, 2011 9:13 pm

    So glad you got to see the movie! I loved it. I ened up getting the Resolution for Women – I’m reading through it – for each resolution I’m making notes, finding verses – making it a resolve for me – deciding what each resolution really looks like for my life. We should plan for a meal soon!

Spark some interest

