Skip to content

Community vs. Activity

September 21, 2011

Fellowship revolves around our commonality in Jesus

I am part of a group of women who are part of a larger group of women all participating in a morning Bible study called Good Morning Girls! We are to be going through 1 John over 12 weeks. 1 verse per morning. Today I read through 1 John 1:3 In this verse God admonishes us through the testimony of John that we are to have fellowhip with other believers AND with the Father and the Son.

I looked up the word fellowship and the Greek word means: community, communion, joint participation.

I’ve been meditating for a while now on the difference between community and activity. I don’t want to be doing a bunch of stuff for church or with people, when I should be building relationships, being encouraged, challenged, and doing the same for others – all in “joint participation” with the Spirit!

So my prayer is that God will continue to show me how to create and be part of community not activity so that I may fellowship more with Him.

What about you? Do you participate in more activity than community? Do you see a difference?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Teresa permalink
    September 21, 2011 10:56 pm

    Hello. I think there is a place for both community and activity, similar to the way there is a place for study and for application. For example, I knit and crochet for charity (activity). There is a use for this, but I can do it when I am alone. Through community, we can lift each other up and hold ourselves accountable. You are right that it is important not to mistake one for the other.

    My prayers for 1 John 1:3 are: that I participate in the community of Christ’s church in order to both learn from others and to edify them and that I am prepared to effectively share the Good Word with others.

    • September 21, 2011 11:18 pm

      Thanks for commenting! My point is many people today mistake activity for community, or they just don’t realize they “need” or are admonished by God to participate in community. People are way too busy these days. My thought is it is partially because of too much activity.

      Jesus did not do a lot of activities. His life was unhurried. That’s not because there was nothing to do to be busy about; he just chose not to be busied and to invest in people. Community produces fruit through relationships, activity just produces busy-ness. That was what I was getting at. 🙂

Spark some interest

