Skip to content

My Kid’s a Dog

May 31, 2011
tags: , , ,

We got another dog. He’s cute. Oh, so smart. But, I’ve found out he has issues. I’m determined to love him and yet train him through them though. Am I so sure about my kid? My kid has sin. He’s cute. Oh, so witty. Am I determined to love AND stand on the truth through it though?

I wanted the dog because I wanted a companion. Some cheap therapy I thought. He made himself right at home with us, with me. He slept in the bed with me the first night. When I found out he has issues I took it as a personal challenge to learn not to give up till I see success. Will it be my success? Is my kid’s sin my failure? The dog succeeding in overcoming his fears and failures will be an indication to me that I don’t give up on someone, not about whether I’m a failure or success.

It’s a dog. But he’s a him. He’s still worth it. In the story of Jonah God pointed out to Jonah:

” And should I not have concern for the great city of Nineveh, in which there are more than a hundred and twenty thousand people who cannot tell their right hand from their left—and also many animals?” God cares about animals.

How much more a person. Another “him”. Every “him” or “her” is worth not giving up on. Not condemning to hell through inaction. Am I embracing sin? By all means, no! But am I embracing Hope? By every means possible, yes.

I have a dog. He has issues.

I have a son. He has issues.

I’m not giving up.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 27, 2014 5:45 am

    Good point. Enjoyed meeting you at critique group Saturday.

Spark some interest

