Skip to content

What Happened to Soft?

May 29, 2011

30 Seconds to Tokyo. That’s what I’m watching right now because Troy left it on. There’s a dance scene where the women are looking up at each of their dance partners with such a sweet, soft countenance. And when they spoke, their voices were so soft. Everyone of them. And the men looked down at their loves with such admiration and softness. It was striking it was so obviously different than our culture. And I thought about actresses who would be in a movie, what they sound like and their countenances: Julia Roberts came to mind. Her voice is probably an octave, at least, lower than these women. And I pondered how would most women these days react to my observation? I think they would be offended, and defensive. They would call these women weak, and the men chauvenistic. But is that true? I don’t think so. I think men and children appreciate a soft voice and countenance. Yes, women “can” be strong. The honest question is: should they be? What is required; what is needed? What is appreciated?

“…A gentle answer turns away wrath.”

“A glad heart makes a cheerful countenance…”

I think God wants women who will serve him and their familes with a soft voice and countenance.

I desire a soft voice and countenance.

No comments yet

Spark some interest

