Skip to content

Joice’s RE:

May 21, 2011

Joice’s Re:

 
Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel.

My favorite version of this song is on a 90’s CD by Truth – You are Emmanuel. Everytime I hear or see the word, “rejoice”, the beginning of that song pops into my head.

Recently, while watching Joseph Prince, he piped up with, Rejoice! Your sins are forgiven! You should wake up every day, excited and saying, “I rejoice that my sins are forgiven.” He was talking to believers! You know, seasoned disciples?

Something struck me afresh in his teaching: I should be remembering and rejoicing realizing the weight of my sins – past, present, and future – are all accounted and PAID FOR because Jesus came as a lowly peasant’s baby, lead a humble yet sin-free life in order to be the perfect, eternal, spotless sacrificial lamb – for me! Why am I still baring the weight of all my short-comings and out-right transgressions when Jesus proclaims himself the “end of the law so that there may be righteousness for everyone who believes”?

You know what I found in my Bible while looking for something else?

1 Cor. 15:56 “The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law.” – I have written to the side, “Trying to be perfect empowers sin!” vs. 57 tells us to rejoice! because, “He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.”

Why do I try so hard? I believe the blood of Jesus saves me from hell – perhaps because hell really is abstract for me. Because I surely can’t seem to apply that same blood to living saved as I am admonished to do in Galatians 3:3 : Are you so foolish? After beginning with the Spirit, are you now trying to attain your goal by human effort? – Yes, apparently.

I am who Joyce Meyer talks about when she references “miserable Christians”. I hate being miserable but I surely seem to be from day to day. In my previous post, Surrender I talked about having not surrendered to my life yet, though I am freely submitted. I so want to be a joyfull wife, mom, and Christian! How can you re-joice, when you have no joy to re?

The word rejoice in the Aramaic literally means to spin around as with violent emotion. That’s a lot more show than a golf-clap! The first mention of “rejoice” is in Exodus 18:9 when Moses’ father-in-law, Jethro, a Meridian priest, “rejoiced” upon hearing of all the good which the LORD had done for Israel delivering her out of the hand of the Egyptians.

Now, this man didn’t even have a dog in the hunt! He physically gave a hoopla, shout-out to God for delivering a group of people from another group of people who all had nothing to do with him. He was not Israeli, was not under the covenant of Abraham, and was living fine and dandy out in the desert. But, he worshipped the one true God anyway. And he physically and emotionally spun around with great delight at the mention of the mighty hand of God delivering His people from slavery and spiritual oppression.

What am I doing with my great and precious promise that has been fulfilled in Christ Jesus? my deliverance from sin and death?

OH GOD, I WANT TO REJOICE! I WANT TO FALL DOWN, TOUCH THE GROUND, JUMP UP, SCREAM AND SHOUT WITH MY VOICE, AND WITH MY L I F E IN REJOICING WORSHIPFUL PRAISE TO YOUR NAME!

Please, God, I can’t even worship you properly. But I want to. I see the scratch on the surface of the magnificent thing you have done for me, and I want to know and appreciate it more and you more.

I pray to live in this season and out of it, rejoicing

No comments yet

Spark some interest

