Skip to content

Him or Hymn?

May 20, 2011

Hymn vs. Him

 
Do hymns bore you? They did me. Until I met Him. Then the hymns came alive! I’m still more of a contemporary Christian worship person, but when I sing, “…in the rustling grass I hear Him pass. He speaks to me everywhere.” My heart wells up. I know that voice. I know what it’s like to “hear” God speak. There’s nothing like it in the world. “Then sings my soul…”

When you know the Him of the hymn your perspective should change. When you know the Object of contemporary worship your offense should soften. It’s all about the reason for the song, not the style.

Ephesians 5:19 tells us: Speak to one another with psalms, hymns and spiritual songs. Sing and make music in your heart to the Lord…

Next time you hear a Hymn sing it to Him. Next time you hear a worship song, sing it to the Son.

No comments yet

Spark some interest

