Skip to content

Enduring and not giving up

May 20, 2011

Enduring and Not Giving Up

 

I was just contemplating enduring and not quitting this AM. As I read today’s entry in My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers, I thought of how the scripture referenced and another fit together: Let your endurance be a finished product… James 1:4 is expressed also in Gal. 6:9 saying, “We will reap a harvest if we do not give up”. It doesn’t work when you just “endure” or “not give up” for a time. It has to be “to completion” or there isn’t a gain – a harvest.

And, sometimes this “prize” is the only option. In the spirit of Peter, sometimes you just don’t quit cause you don’t know what else you’d do anyway! When asked by Jesus why they (the disciples) weren’t walking away like the rest of the crowd because of Jesus’ confusing words, “eat my flesh and drink my blood” Peter responded – well, we don’t understand you either, but, where else can we go? What else can we do? We at least recognize you’ve got something we don’t, and it’s something we need. There is no other option.

I, like you, have contemplated quitting many aspects of many things many times. But when I think it through, sometimes I come to the conclusion – and then what? To whom or what shall I go? Enduring is the Bread of Life. And, when I stick it out, I always reap a harvest: character, quality, wisdom, experience, sometimes even concrete and material rewards. Always a closer walk with Him.

Enduring, not quitting, really is a reward in itself.

No comments yet

Spark some interest

